Skip to Main Content

News Details

Polk County Commissioners Sworn In

Published on Nov 22, 2022

Bartow, Fla. (Nov. 22, 2022) — Martha Santiago and Rick Wilson were sworn in as Polk County commissioners during today’s investiture at the Polk County Administration building. Santiago was sworn in by the Honorable Melissa Gravitt, Judge of the Circuit Court, and Wilson was sworn in by Polk County Attorney Randy Mink.

Santiago, who represents District 4, was reelected on Nov. 8, claiming 66 percent of the votes. Wilson, who represents District 2, was unopposed. Santiago and Wilson will both serve their second four-year term. Polk County commissioners are limited to three consecutive terms.

Additionally, George M. Lindsey, III was selected to succeed Santiago as board chair. Bill Braswell will serve as vice chair during the 2022-23 fiscal year.

Santiago was first elected to the Polk County Commission in 2018, and she served as board vice chair for 2020-21 and board chair for 2021-22. The former Provost of Polk State College, Santiago is focused on economic development, growth, infrastructure, and community safety.

Wilson also was first elected to the Polk County Commission in 2018 and he served as board chair for 2020-21. A Polk County native, Wilson is committed to making Polk County’s public transportation network stronger, to creating job opportunities for the county’s residents and to preserving the county’s natural resources.